• Tue Jan 23 2018
  • 6:00 pm

  • Main Hall





Since 2005, CMA Songwriters Series has presented the very best of Country Music’s songwriters, whose hits are known worldwide. The shows are intimate presentations where songwriters can exhibit their craft and share many of the stories behind the songs they have penned. Currently in its 14th season, CMA Songwriters Series has presented more than 100 shows in 17 cities.

British Columbia-born singer/songwriter Dean Brody is one of Canada’s most celebrated Country artists with 16 Canadian Country Music Awards and two Junos under his studded belt. Most recently at the 2017 CCMA Awards, he won the coveted Fan’s Choice Award, Songwriter of the Year and the award for Top-Selling Single of the Year for “Bush Party,” featured on his sixth album Beautiful Freakshow. Brody worked on Beautiful Freakshow in Nashville alongside long-time producer and friend Matt Rovey.

Born and raised in Nashville, Levi Hummon was surrounded by music greats, including his own father, award-winning songwriter Marcus Hummon. After studying painting in college, Levi was drawn back to music and found himself working with notable songwriters around town. In 2017, Hummon debuted two singles—“Don’t Waste the Night” and “Stupid”—made his first international appearance in the U.K., and spent the year touring with Frankie Ballard, Kelsea Ballerini, Billy Currington, Hunter Hayes, Kip Moore, Michael Ray and more.

Two-time CMA Awards winner Marcus Hummon has enjoyed a successful career as a songwriter, recording artist, composer, playwright and author. His best-known hits include “Bless The Broken Road” (Rascal Flatts), “Cowboy Take Me Away” and “Ready To Run” (The Dixie Chicks), “Born To Fly” (Sara Evans), “One Of These Days” (Tim McGraw), and “Only Love” (Wynonna). In 2005, “Bless The Broken Road” won the Grammy for Best Country Song. Both Marcus and Levi joined fellow songwriters in October of 2017 throughout Europe as the CMA Songwriters Series expanded internationally.

Toronto and Nashville-based singer/songstress Jessica Mitchellhas spent the last decade digging deeper into her artistry, focusing on writing new music and crafting her richly unique sound. In 2017, she released two brand new tracks—“Don’t Love Me” as well as “Tear It Down,” which quickly landed on Spotify’s coveted Wild Country playlist. Last September, Jessica performed her song “Heart of Glass” to a standing ovation at the Canadian Country Music Awards. That same month, she also performed for Neil Young at his induction to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame.